Heart Opening Moments

BLOG of a Spiritual Stripper

Learning from a Pistachio

Pistachio is also called the joy nut or open heart nut in Chinese

Pistachio is also called the Joy nut or the Open Heart nut in Chinese

I was snacking on some shelled pistachios while writing in my journal the other day.  By the end of the plate, I got to this beautifully smooth pistachio.  It was off white, perfectly shaped, and nearly glowing.  As I held it in my hand, I admired its beauty and wanted to dig into its shell to retrieve the nut…

Quickly I realized that this particular pistachio was hardly open…

I was getting more and more frustrated putting way too much energy into getting it open…  I finally had to give up…

You are probably asking “why would you be frustrated with a pistachio?”  I asked myself the same question.  Why something this small ended draining so much energy from me is a very good question to ask.  The answer is “well, there’s probably a really big lesson in this!”  Hmmm, what lesson can a pistachio bring to me?

Suddenly I realized that in Chinese, we call the pistachio an open heart nut.  It opens gracefully to allow us the access to its core beauty while offering itself in service completely.  A pistachio nut gives itself up fully to become us, without reservation.  A pistachio’s purpose is in its service.  Only when a pistachio is fully open, the nut can then be retrieved, and the purpose of the pistachio is fulfilled.  Only by opening its heart fully, its beauty is revealed and its life is worthwhile.  In this particular case, the very pistachio I was holding only opened its heart “half-heartedly”.  Maybe it didn’t think it was good enough or it was too afraid to open up completely.  Nevertheless, the result of a half opened heart is an unfulfilled purpose and a wasted lifetime.

The fate of this pistachio is a potential fate of mine!  I know that I would like to be of service to mankind and yet I am holding back and only opening my heart “half-heartedly”.  By doing so I am not living up to my highest potential and robbing away my ultimate service to the world.  I asked myself, “isn’t it time to open up my heart fully and completely without reservation?”

“Everyone has been made for some particular work, and the desire for that work has been put in every heart.” – Rumi

Interesting fact: Open Heart = JOY (in Chinese).  Hmmm…

First published on March 5th, 2009 on Atomic-Flow

July 8, 2009 - Posted by | Self Realization, World Transformation | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. What was the answer? Are you willing to take the risk? In the brief time I have known you I have seen your big heart. What a nice lesson to learn.

    Comment by Doug | July 9, 2009 | Reply

    • Is it a risk? I’ve died once, who’s to say that life is more risky than death? The decision was made back in March and I am working on myself step by step, day by day to be authentic. I intend my book to have a happy ending/beginning.

      I’ve learned from Anne of Green Gables on Prince Edward Island today that each day is a fresh beginning with no mistakes in it yet. “When I left Queen’s my future seemed to stretch out before me like a straight road. I thought I could see along it for many a milestone. Now there is a bend in it. I don’t know what lies around the bend, but I’m going to believe that the best does. It has a fascination of its own, that bend, Marilla.” – Lucy Maud Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

      Comment by Flo Li | July 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

