Heart Opening Moments

BLOG of a Spiritual Stripper

Learning Moments

There are no mistakes - only learning moments

There are no mistakes – only learning moments

“There are no mistakes. The events we bring upon ourselves, no matter how unpleasant, are necessary in order to learn what we need to learn; whatever steps we take, they’re necessary to reach the places we’ve chosen to go.” – Richard Bach

I have often asked myself – why is it happening to me?  Sometimes the external circumstances are too frustrating, too strange, and too unpredictable.  I never truly feel in control of my own life and yet I have noticed that there is a certain kind of pattern to my perceived circumstances depending on the quality of my internal states…

Interesting enough, things have not been rosy and happy for me this week.  I’ve had a lot of challenges with my health as well as my emotional state.  I feel like I’m in a constant state of catching up deadlines and meetings, sucking the energy out of my body.  The more I do, the less I feel; the more I plan, the less I accomplish; and the more I think, the less thoughtful I become.  Until I am no longer a human being but a humanoid robot.  “What is going on?!”

The funniest thing happened today.  I walked in to my bank knowing that I can get a refund on the charges appeared in my statements, but somehow I was not able to.  I noticed myself getting annoyed, critical and judgemental of the bank manager who tried so hard to protect a few dollars while selling me something I did not need.  I nearly granted her a frontal verbal assault she unconsciously asked for.  Suddenly, I realized that I did not like the person I became and yet I was unwilling to choose my attitude differently.  What is going on?

The body never lies.  As I watched my body tense up the whole day, my mind was tense and unforgiving as well.  Nothing seemed to work – especially when I’m totally rigid in my body, mind and spirit – not allowing anything outside of my desire to manifest.  Ohhh, ahhh, interesting…  When we are not allowing, we tense up.  Two tense minds can only end up in a deadly ego struggle – like I experienced earlier during the day.  The bank manager is probably so focused on her bottom line that she has lost her heart’s compassionate ability to help me.  I was totally focused on getting a few dollars back that I was not operating from my heart space.  When both of us are operating from such a mind struggle, the result is tension, irritation, and hurt feelings.  So what if one becomes soft and fluid like the willow tree, what if I was more allowing, and what if I was more forgiving?  Would she have responded differently?

Hmmm, what if…  This was another learning moment gifted to me today.  The next time I shall choose differently – from choosing to be more allowing and operating from my heart center while stepping away from my attachment, I can then calibrate the “right” behavoir in any given circumstance.  I don’t have to operate from an eye for an eye prespective.  I can be the bigger person and become more allowing while offering others the space to experience their internal growth process.

Happy learning moments everyone!  May you turn your struggle into your spiritual golden nuggets.

July 17, 2009 - Posted by | Inner Growth, Self Realization

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

