Heart Opening Moments

BLOG of a Spiritual Stripper

Be Your Music

Itzhak Perlman violinist

Violinist Itzhak Perlman Became One with His Violin - Expressing His Music With the Depth of His Emotions

My father was filled with enthusiasm as he deluged his concert experience. He was beaming, glowing, flushed with energy. I felt as if I was in the presence of an enlightened master when he transmitted his inspiration to the rest of us. Whatever happened to him at the concert have somehow jolted to the core of him.

This way of being flowing through my father was shocking to me initially. I have not seen him this way in quite sometime. You must know, my father the computer systems engineer is usually very logical, steady and extremely critical. He taught me to always look for what is not good enough in something in order to improve upon it. We’ve always looked for the lack, the imperfections, the not good enough parts in everything we do. Being a technician of machines it was an excellent trait for him to embrace, yet in his musical life this trait became devastating as he sought technical perfection in the expense of emotional overture. After twenty years of logical operations of the mind, this charismatic ex-orchestra conductor became mechanical and his animated energy was deadened. The zest was gone.

Somehow the gift of another accomplished violinist have put the zest back in my father’s life. The exaltation in the acoustic vibrations can not be calculated or measured yet the evident effect was undeniable. As I gently asked my father what he was feeling he did not answer me by his style of thinking, instead, he radiated the joy of being as he expressed his appreciation of an invisible force of nature. It was portrayed the violinist Itzhak Perlman embodied effortless grace. Perlman merged with his musical instrument. There was a seamless harmony as the music poured out of Perlman. There was no gap between the violin and the violinist. The violinist became his music. The violin was merely an extension of the violinist that simply channeled his music. He was not performing, he was being, and he was purely authentic. Each note was expressed through the depth of the musician and the melody was a transmission to awaken the soul of millions.  The effortless being of the musician became a repartee of play instead of a demonstration of work. As Perlman swayed to his melody, the emotions of overcoming his physical challenges from polio turned into a fountain of appreciation that in turned gave him life. As Perlman awakened to his own life in his music, he freely passed onto the gift of living to millions around him.  His vibrations of enthusiastic celebration kindled life back to my father’s heart as well…

I am thankful – one man’s authentic self-expression brought inspiration to awaken the hearts of millions. I too felt awakened by this second-handed transmission from Perlman. I couldn’t help but to ask myself what is truly my music to share with the world?

As I’m getting closer and closer to the purity of my true self-expression I no longer wish to hold back my gift. Have you found your true self-expression? If so will you share it?

If you have found your music, please let your music fulfill the hunger within the rest of us. Allow the authentic truth of who you are bring altitude to dissolve all illusion. It is a joy and a privilege to be the catalyst that inspires a greater reality. Let your music flow out of you!

April 25, 2010 - Posted by | Self Realization | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Ah it’s been a while since your last post, it’s good to finally hear from you.

    Nice post btw. It’s not uncommon for martial artists to have (or have had) talents in music btw. My current sensei is a gifted trumpet player.

    Comment by Accidental Aikidoist | April 27, 2010 | Reply

    • It’s been a month! I noticed I have more spiritual needs than physical needs so now I have gained more clarity from my absence.

      Speaking of music and aikido – I’ve noticed this post is very aikidoish. My sensei would tell me use the power from my center and that is being authentic. Using arms would be more of a demonstration instead of truly being.

      Comment by Flo Li | April 28, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

