Heart Opening Moments

BLOG of a Spiritual Stripper

Dance With the Flow

Why is Hula dancing so seductive to the soul?

According to one Hawaiian legend Laka – goddess of the hula, gave birth to the dance of the soul on the island of Moloka’i. The fiery emotional natural of the goddess is expressed through every movement within the dance, allowing the body to communicate passion, to capture a tale, and to sink deeply into the harmony of nature. As women, we long for a chance to express ourselves deeply and be penetrated by the forces of nature. Today, I finally got the opportunity to express the side of me through hula as I danced to the waves.

Feeling energized and spiritually uplifted, I wondered why hula was such an awakening experience for me. It is said that hula was often done in conjunction with rituals of temples and for deities. Every movement is sacred – like a form of a prayer, offering homage to the goddess and gods alike with tales from the soul. Hula was also danced for pleasure, with deeply felt emotions surfacing with each note. The wasmana (life force) in the music and lyrics as well as the precision of the performance in harmony with the wave-like movements all contributed to a sacred continuum connecting us to nature and to the divine.

Laka is also referred to as the goddess of love. The plants of the forests were served as offering to Laka – allowing her the life force to sustain spiritual energy to expand into greater love. The ki plant in particular is considered sacred, possessing potent life force, it was used for protection as well as bringing love and power. The goddess energy was expressed through the emotions of fiery passion, the light and darkness of love, the every changing movement of the fire and the waves.

Within the movements of hula, emotions were felt deeply as we moved our bodies to the lyrics, to the music of nature, and to the goddess within. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to attend my boyfriend’s grandmother’s 90th birthday today. I feel even more blessed to have touched upon a spiritual nature deep within the Hawaiian culture. I danced to the waves. I danced with the flow. And the pleasure lasted.

May 9, 2010 - Posted by | Inner Growth | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hello,

    Off topic question: may I subscribe to you on youtube? Nice article btw!

    Comment by Accidental Aikidoist | May 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Of course! http://www.youtube.com/user/Flolenator There are some aikido videos that you might enjoy. How’s your training going? I’m exhausted with a hard day brown belt test training today…

      Comment by Flo Li | May 15, 2010 | Reply

      • My training is going well. Recently I have been missing out because of work – however I will be newly unemployed soon so my training will be picking up soon (hopefully).

        And as a heads up my youtube name is ‘cruzerrepublic’.

        I did not know you were a brown belt already. Getting Shodan anytime soon?

        Comment by Accidental Aikidoist | May 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

