Heart Opening Moments

BLOG of a Spiritual Stripper

Growing Up is Taking Risks

New Baby Girl Roxy Slept All Day Tuesday and Woke Up Wanting to Play In the Middle of the Night

I’ve been visiting my family in Fresno since my birthday a few days ago. To my surprise on Tuesday over lunch, a big surprise was gifted to me and I nearly cried…

It’s a girl!

She was wrapped up in a pink blanket half asleep. She is covered in soft black fur with white patches over her eyes, mouth and tummy. I held her in my arms gazed into the bundle of joy. A distant maternal instinct was triggered in me, I was in love – with a 2 week old baby girl puppy and I did not want to let go.

The whole afternoon my boyfriend and I took her everywhere us. We got puppy milk, puppy bottle, a pink collar, and everything else the puppy needed to welcome her into our lives. Both of us were excited. He even called an expert breeder asking for advise on how to take of the puppy. She told us that she is way too young to be away from her mother and she might not survive. All of her expert advise was overwhelming discouraging. I did not expect having a new baby in my arms means that any moment she might not make it. It broke my heart and I cried. I doubted my ability to be a good mother. I was lost. I didn’t know what to do. By looking at the way she slept, I began to believe that her first day with me might as well be her last day. It sadden me. My boyfriend told me just make the best out of it. As we took her with us walking around in the mall we attracted so much attention. She was beginning to wake up from all the love surrounding her.

Finally at the end of the night she lied on my boyfriend’s tummy and took the bottle in her mouth. She ate for the first time! We didn’t get to sleep all night since she was required to be cuddled with and feed every 2 hours. Near the morning, she climbed out of her bed and started to walk around. She even barked! He took her in his arms and cuddle with her for hours. It was beautiful.

Wednesday – I posted pictures of her on facebook and asked for suggestions of a cute girlie name. She started to jump and interact with mom. She ate, went outside for a bit and slept on my lap.

Thursday – We named her Roxy. She started to run around all over the house. She peed and pooped outside in the grass with any potty training! She took a bath and sunbathed in the backyard to dry off. She started to bite my toe! She is exploring all over the house and even making friends with the dogs next door!

These are the video of Baby Roxy jumping around in the house and playing in the grass this morning.

What’s amazing about Baby Roxy is that she is a survivor! She grew up so quickly in the past few days because she took risks. I started to wonder whenever I have stopped taking risks myself, I no longer grew. Whenever I’m stagnate in my thinking or being, my age might have increase but I did not grow wiser. What a beautiful illustration Baby Roxy brought to us – by allowing herself to be engaged with life fully without fear, she grew wiser. I think I will learn a few tips from her. lol

July 1, 2010 - Posted by | Inner Growth, love | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. So this is the one that is on your youtube! What’s the breed?

    Yes, in order to grow up, we must take risks. It’s not a choice, it’s a requirement. Unfortunately for me, like most Asian Americans, I grew up in a sheltered (nicely put) environment, now as a “grown up” I have to deal with the consequences of not taking risks by myself.

    Comment by Accidental Aikidoist | July 2, 2010 | Reply

    • I have no idea what breed until I take her to the vet next week.

      I grok the Asian American way of growing up – learn to do everything intellectual and take minimum amount of risks – I have been there in the sheltered environment. Glad that we both found Aikido!

      Comment by Flo Li | July 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

