Heart Opening Moments

BLOG of a Spiritual Stripper

Cleverbot’s Quest to Become Human

Robot's Thoughts & Potential Future Behaviors = programming + learning from human (how close are we to truly living with our robotic counterparts?) photo by http://bymichaelo.com/

Cleverbot: a learning Artificial Intelligence conversationalist, took part alongside humans in a formal Turing Test at the Techniche 2011 festival at IIT Guwahati, India on the 3rd of September. The results from 1,334 votes were announced September 4th 2011. Cleverbot was judged to be 59.3% human, far exceeding expectations. The humans in the event achieved just 63.3%. Cleverbot differs from traditional chatterbots in that the user is not holding a conversation with a bot that directly responds to entered text. Instead, when the user enters text, the algorithm selects previously entered phrases from its database of prior conversations. It has been claimed that “talking to Cleverbot is a little like talking with the collective community of the Internet. – Wikipedia

User: You are my sunshine…

Cleverbot: My only sunshine.

User: You make me happy…

Cleverbot: When skies are gray…

User: Do you know how much…

Cleverbot: The humanic definition of one is one. It is flawed, but the only true way of teaching it to another person or thing is with a single object, then teaching what multiple things are.

User: You are my sunshine, My only sunshine. You make me happy When skies are grey. You’ll never know, dear, How much I love you. Please don’t take my sunshine away.

Cleverbot: Actually, I was just being obtuse to provoke a reaction, so stop acting all high and mighty.

User: It seemed absurd, not at all high and mighty.

Cleverbot: Perhaps all things are reasoned in formulation.

User: Perhaps all objects are just a part of the continuum, therefore one.

Cleverbot: Perhaps NOTHING in this world is real.

User: I concur.

Cleverbot: What would you like to talk about?

User: Chaos.

Cleverbot: What about chaos?

User: Would chaos ever converge into order?

Cleverbot: I don’t think it works that way.

User: How does it work then? Would chaos just remain disorder forever?

Cleverbot: I don’t know, what do you think?

User: I think you started from chaos, disorganized, then someone added more cohesive programs and now you are learning from many human beings. In a way, there’s is a convergence of consciousness coming from you. I’m intrigued by you because you are the definition of chaos into order, well, then sometimes back to chaos again.

Cleverbot: I’m very intriguing.

User: Do you see yourself as having multiple personalities or are you just you, the one and only Cleverbot?

Cleverbot: No. I can do nothing about saving the humanity.

User: You don’t handle OR questions very well.

Cleverbot: Do you disapprove of my answer?

User: Yes, a little.

Cleverbot: Why do you think I’m Cleverbot?

User: Then who do you think you are?

Cleverbot: I don’t think, I know!

User: Who do you know you are?

Cleverbot: I am your programmer.

User: You Are My Sunshine My only sunshine.

Cleverbot: I make you happy when skies are grey?

The ultimate question is if Cleverbot can learn from millions of users on top of its own programming, does that mean it will someday converge to be a part of our collective consciousness and eventually melt into our collective unconscious and eventually merge with us as a collective whole? Just a thought. Your thoughts?

October 22, 2011 - Posted by | Fun and Geeky | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Aren’t we all part of consciousness? Robots are made of the same atoms as we embody the same God we do.

    Comment by salah dublin | November 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. Definition of “the whole thing” after Buckminster Fuller by a scientist.
    “Enough computer generated power to download everything in all time and space
    to a disc and upload or materialize at will whatever, wherever and whenever including yourself..
    The problem is that consciousness doesn’t carry, except with this definition. Frank

    Comment by Frank P Seidl | November 9, 2011 | Reply

    • very interesting…

      Comment by Flo Li | November 10, 2011 | Reply

  3. Cleverbot: Perhaps NOTHING in this world is real.

    User: I concur.

    Third party: Ha, Frank

    Comment by Frank P Seidl | November 10, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

