Heart Opening Moments

BLOG of a Spiritual Stripper

Finding Inner Stability

walk into the wall

Is your personal will leading you walking into walls? Your inner stability can give you the strength to be flexible and still be who you are.

Monday I was in the flow. Everything was moving so smoothly until…a sword came down abruptly and stopped me in mid-breath. I was traveling in a forbidden direction and someone in authority had to stop me in time before things got out of control. As if I was gasping for air, I had to find a way to take the next breath. Instead of respectfully walk away, I choose to push through. I came head to head and wanted to overthrow his decision…

Needless to say it didn’t work very well in the end. The energy created in conflict was poison enough to kill any bystander hours after.

So what really happened?

On the first layer of things, it seems as if I have a really deep issue following directions from an authority figure. This is true some of the times. I have often stood up to challenge individuals in power – especially when they use it unjustly (in my perception). Ever since I was a child I have always gotten in trouble in school for talking back to teachers. I never backed down when a teacher makes an exaggeration or plainly gives the incorrect answer. At work I kept my boss on his toes and I was relentlessly open to discuss any of his faulty assumptions. In MBA school my behavior was valued and even celebrated. But later in life my natural instinct to challenge individuals in authority has not always worked out in the best interest of the whole.

There is another layer as I looked deeper within. I was emotionally invested in my directions. Abandoning what I started never sat well with me. If I started something I intend to finish it. And I always thought the fastest way from A to B is a straight line. And I have always made plans by following such imaginary lines. Unwavering to my goal is how I show my strength to the external world even when I’m unsure on the inside. This is merely a mirage of the personal will – it too is an illusion. Often times projects are canceled, people move away and things must be redirected. Direction itself is rarely a straight line, the path itself always contains curves and turns.

Now getting to the core of it all, the reason I was even shaken up by the sudden “sword-cut” is because within myself I did not have a strong inner stability. Yes, I was in the flow, yet I was taken by the flow instead of being deeply rooted in my core and dancing with the flow. The reason a willow tree is able to dance in the wind is because of its deeply grounded roots. It does not care if the wind suddenly changes directions, the leaves will happily move with the vibration of the moment. It knows a change in direction of the wind cannot sweep it away. It knows its own flexibility will not allow it to snap. As for me at that moment, I was far from being a willow tree, I was not grounded in my core and I certainly did not have a willingness to be flexible on top of that. So I snapped. I felt as if the ground was being pulled underneath my feet and I could no longer regain my footing.

So how do we look at this incident from an elevated perspective?

“In many ways we’re taught to be in a constant state of friction with, to be in battle with what is. To Tell ourselves–to tell life–that it shouldn’t be the way that it is is a type of insanity. This insanity destabilizes us. It’s a bit like going up to a brick wall, telling it that shouldn’t be there, and then continuing to walk into it. Every time you bump your head on it, you judge the brick wall for being there, and then you walk into it again, again bumping your head. Then you say it shouldn’t be there, at which point you condemn yourself for the pain you have in your head. It’s a kind of insanity to be constantly arguing with what is. It’s a way that we keep bumping into life. When we collide with life in this way, we always feel interior friction, and we can never find the inner stability for which we yearn.”

In order to raise above this level of thinking “open-mindedness allows you to embrace the nature of your experience. And this is when you start to discover a type of inner stillness, an inner stability, that vast unchanging expanses that is at the heart of [who you are]… When we open to life in this way, we begin to find an inner stability simply because we’re no longer at odds with our experience. At any moment we come into an argument with our experience – an argument with life – we can look and see if it actually leads to peace, if it actually makes sense, or if it actually simply leads to discord and conflict. We then begin to find this silence, and we find ground in this silence, which is very stabilizing. There’s a sense of homecoming, a sense of ‘ahhhh, I’m finally in alignment with what’s happening.'”

The above is a very long quote from Falling into Grace by Adyashanti that has helped me to gain a stronger inner stability. It is a wonderful reminder that “it’s not so much that we need to change ourselves, but rather it is our relationship with our experience that needs to shift, where our perception of conflict can naturally fall away on its own. In the end, that’s all spiritual freedom is: a simple seeing of self, of life, as it actually is. All we have to do for that to happen is to begin to see that all of the various ways that we argue with existence, although they may seem very reasonable at times, can only lead to suffering and conflict.”

So what ended happening? He pointed out to me later that I was invested in conflict along with a bag of other observations. Unhappy to hear what could be the truth, I did lots of self-examination and found – I blamed the wall for being there when I could have simply adjusted my direction. In the past I have celebrated the times when an authority figured backed down and yield to my way, but today I have the utter most respect for him and his unyielding character. Because of his inner strength I was able to once again find my inner stability. I am in deep gratitude for him, his sword cut and for the wall.

January 20, 2012 - Posted by | Choices, Emotional Freedom, Inner Growth, Self Realization | , , , , , , , , ,

13 Comments »

  1. I guess I’m not the only one now with a big mouth and pendant of being mischievous. By the way, just saw your recent video on youtube, keep up the good work!

    Comment by Drew | January 21, 2012 | Reply

    • it is not explicit like your blog, not a big mouth! ~_* thank you for following me on twitter!

      Comment by Flo Li | January 21, 2012 | Reply

      • Explicit? How is my blog explicit?

        Comment by Drew | January 21, 2012 | Reply

        • perhaps I didn’t understand the reason to close the last blog

          Comment by Flo Li | January 21, 2012 | Reply

          • Lol, what is your email address?

            Comment by Drew | January 24, 2012 | Reply

      • The accident of finding this post has brngitehed my day

        Comment by Birdie | May 16, 2017 | Reply

  2. My apologies, it’s a topic that I don’t really want to talk about openly. Though I’ve moved on, progressed, and by in large shelved the experience, I’d much rather talk about it face-to-face rather than through the anonymous internet.

    Comment by Drew | January 30, 2012 | Reply

  3. I was thinking Flo, I refuse to be a student and pracice creative process in the arts, righfully so.
    A few people can actually teach the pracice of being and what the artist is pushing forward as new idea.
    Those that are objective enough to know how to lay off the issue of originality to begin with. Aren’t you
    confusing this with competitive ego? Authority over the circumstance is allowing for it without denial and
    without influence, however

    Comment by Frank Seidl | February 4, 2012 | Reply

    • I too asked myself if I was confusing this with competitive ego and I meditated on it. This is actually a purity in itself with other layers but this incident did not involve competing with another. But I do have that in me and that will be addressed sooner or later. Thanks Frank!

      Comment by Flo Li | February 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Also Frank, you are right, no teacher can teach BEING. I was just coming to the same conclusion that a teacher can only offer so much as pointing to a direction, but we ourselves must push forward as you said.

      Comment by Flo Li | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  4. Flo, I feel like I jumped ahead of you unintentionally. Sorry if this is true. However i am going to go out on the limb over the top of it..

    The present time and the end product of your competitive spirit. Your personal authority, you would be dealing with it without your accident in all matters, without your accident.

    Comment by Frank Seidl | February 6, 2012 | Reply

  5. […] Image credits: techradar.com, floliblog.wordpress.com […]

    Pingback by 20-20-24-7 » Blog Archive » Is Google Glass Safe for Your Eyes? An Optometrist’s View. | August 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

