Flo's Heart Opening Moments

BLOG of a Spiritual Stripper

Your Identity and Your True Self

My normal morning routine of yoga and meditation with Baby dog by my side.

My normal morning routine of yoga and meditation with Baby dog by my side. (photo by ig – @fotografiablu)

Have you ever experienced how others perceive you will determine how they will treat you? And how you “appear” externally will determine how they will perceive you? In the end, does how you “appear” externally truly reflect who you really are?

Normally I have a spot I like to do my morning yoga in the park next to the canyon with my dog Baby. There are several workers in the area working to build a new playground. We often communicate with each other in passing with a “namaste” kind of sincere smile.

Over the years I have gotten showered with sincere kindness and greetings no matter where I am as I walked in my own state of peace and gratitude after morning yoga and meditation practice. This has become the norm.

A few days ago, my body was feeling the effects of the flu. Instead of doing yoga that day, I took the dog out for a quick walk around the block. As I walked pass the workers, feeling the same kind of love I have always felt, I naturally smiled to them in the same way I always did. To my surprise, none of them responded.

Initially I was shocked why all of a sudden the workers I have said hello to in the past months did not recognize me. Then when I got to the mirror – I did not recognize myself. I looked completely different under the spell of the flu. My face was swollen, my eyes could barely open, my hair was flying into my glasses as my glasses were falling half way down my face. I looked like a poor homeless woman with a dog! By all means, this is not meant to be judgmental in any way. It is merely an observation. The most interesting part is, while the external being looked somewhat out-of-place, yet this internal being, the ever-present peace, love and gratitude felt stronger than ever. I couldn’t help but ask myself, when do people perceive you as the real you and when do people perceive you as the mask you wear?

Going even further, I wanted to ask you, when do you perceive yourself as the real you and when do you perceive yourself as the mask you wear? And have you lived in your mask so long that you now believe you are that mask?

In the coming months, I will be conducting an experiment with a local photographer to answer these questions. My goal is for you to see how you feel physically, emotionally is only the external mask – what defines who you really are is that eternal being within. I look forward to your experience, comments, and contributions.

Namaste – I adore the divine in you.

April 29, 2015 - Posted by | Self Realization | , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I was just thinking about this idea today, the idea that my appearance and my insides often do not match, which can create confusion and disappointment in others. There are two problems.

    One is that my face does not express well unless the expression is extreme. There are times when I can feel my facial muscles trying to make a particular emotional statement, something subdued. Then I look in the mirror… and it looks like it always does. Stoic. Expressionless. It requires an extraordinary contortion of facial muscles, the kind that happens when my mood is extreme (extreme happiness, extreme anger, that sort of thing) for this rubbery face skin of mine to even outwardly express it. This has created problems in the past.

    The other is that I am pretty. Not as pretty as I was when I was younger, and certainly not as pretty as I was just a few years ago when I was genuinely working on myself. But my appearance sets up expectations. I look smart. I look like I am a man who does great things. Why do I think this? Because that is what people have expected of me, though I’ve never done anything to deserve it. Ever since I was a child, I looked “bright”. I’ve literally watched women’s faces go from interest to disappointment as I’ve opened my mouth and reveal the mild, but palpable autism beneath.

    I’m not complaining about who I am, how I am, or how my life is now. It’s just interesting that my face alone can get my foot in the door, even if the “real me” has no business entering.

    Comment by Daryl Sawyer | April 29, 2015 | Reply

    • Thank you for sharing Daryl. As I’ve always expected you to be super smart from your looks since when we were teens in biology camp. But a few years ago when you visited San Diego I’ve discovered you are not as nerdy as I had expected but you are bright in a different way. You are bright, in your own way. You are deep, thoughtful, and careful. You are not the overly logical, emotionless type of nerdy. Which shows a different aspect of who you are as a person internally.

      Isn’t it interesting that our per-judgement of others is not all that accurate after all?

      Comment by Flo Li | April 29, 2015 | Reply

  2. identification like wanting seems to be false truth,
    false intelligence. Destroys integrity!

    Comment by Frank Seidl | April 30, 2015 | Reply

    • yes! false intelligence is a great way of putting it.

      Comment by Flo Li | May 7, 2015 | Reply

  3. Why are you unhappy?
    Because 99.9 per cent
    Of everything you think,
    And of everything you do,
    Is for yourself —
    And there isn’t one.[1]
    -Wei Wu Wei
    Sent from my iPad

    Comment by adamsfrances | May 7, 2015 | Reply

    • You touched on a very good point. When we speak of yourself here, it is your exterior identity. And Fran, what are you extract? Are you the exterior self or are you something more? And what is that something more?

      Comment by Flo Li | May 7, 2015 | Reply

  4. The eternal flow

    Comment by adamsfrances | May 10, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

